Congenital Heart Disease is a specialist service so different types of care are provided in different ways across the hospitals in the Network.

In the South Wales and South West region there are three levels of CHD centres (hospitals) where services are provided. The information below outlines the different levels of care offered. 

Level 1 Care: Specialist Congenital Heart Disease Surgical Centre – University Hospitals Bristol and Weston NHS Foundation Trust

  • Fetal services
  • Cardiac obstetrics
  • Neonatal intensive care service
  • Children’s and adult’s surgery
  • Specialist diagnostic and imaging services
  • Specialist catheter interventions
  • Specialist imaging
  • Adult's and children's outpatient services

Level 2 Care - Specialist Congenital Heart Disease Centre – University Hospital of Wales, Cardiff 

  • Fetal services
  • Specialist diagnostic and imaging services
  • Some adult catheter interventions
  • Adult's and children's outpatient services

Level 3 – Local Congenital Heart Disease Centres

  • Assessment of GP referrals
  • Basic cardiac diagnostic services
  • Ongoing outpatient care and management

Our Level 3 Hospitals in the South West and South Wales:

Please note the Hospitals provide both Adult and Paediatric care unless specified differently below. 

  • Barnstaple, North Devon District Hospital
  • Bath, Royal United Hospital (paediatrics only)
  • Exeter, Royal Devon and Exeter Hospital
  • Gloucester, Gloucestershire Hospitals
  • Plymouth, Derriford Hospital
  • Swindon, Great Weston Hospital
  • Taunton, Musgrove Park Hospital
  • Torquay, Torbay District General Hospital
  • Truro, Royal Cornwall Hospital


  • Abergavenny, Nevill Hall Hospital (Aneurin Bevan UHB)
  • Newport, Royal Gwent Hospital (Aneurin Bevan UHB)
  • Llantrisant, Royal Glamorgan Hospital (Cwm Taf Morgannwg UHB)
  • Merthyr Tydfil, Prince Charles Hospital (Cwm Taf Morgannwg UHB)
  • Bridgend, Princess of Wales Hospital (Cwm Taf Morgannwg UHB)
  • Carmarthen, Glangwilli General Hospital (Hywel Dda UHB)
  • Haverford West, Withybush Hospital (Hywel Dda UHB)
  • Swansea, Singleton Hospital (Swansea Bay UHB)


For more information on our Hospitals, including details of the services, clinicians, contact information etc, please visit the Hospitals section of the website.